Page 862 - Butterfly Twice as High

28th Jan 2017, 6:00 AM
Butterfly Twice as High
Average Rating: 5 (1 votes)
<<First Latest>>

Author Notes:

Newbiespud 28th Jan 2017, 6:00 AM edit delete
Newbiespud
Story Time! Any stories where the party or a single player was given a temporary magical spell by their employer to complete a job?

16 Comments:

Digo Dragon 28th Jan 2017, 6:44 AM edit delete reply
Digo Dragon
Would a "temporary reward" count? My FO:E earth pony had earned credit towards getting some cybernetic implants. The GM put together a homebrew list of available cyber-parts, along with prices. Cybernetic wings was on the list and I could afford them. I thought that was a good buy because the party has three pegasi out of five members. With wings my character wouldn't need to be carried anymore and I was strong enough to carry the remaining member of the team (the unicorn).

We came up with amusing ideas to have "death from above" tactics where I fly the unicorn over the battlefield and she rains down lightning on our enemies. ^_^ But then the GM said No on my pony getting the wings, so I had to pick something else. Well, I guess it isn't really a temporary reward. More a reward with certain features unavailable/locked.

Kinda like some modern games with microtransactions and DLCs. XD
Anonymous User 1337 28th Jan 2017, 7:03 AM edit delete reply
Well I'm not sure about a magical tool, but once a Bard I played received a magical scroll for killing some wargs. I believe our fighter looked at it and nothing went wrong, so I assumed it was all good and had my character start reading it. Turns out it was activated by a magic user reading it, and my character was possessed long enough to do some sort of crazy chant thing and summon an edgy guy who had a huge bone to pick with the gods themselves. Unfortunately the campaign sorta died after the second or third session, so we never really saw the end of this adventure.

TL:DR, I read an unknown scroll like a dumb@$$ and summoned an ancient evil who wanted to kill the gods.
Binary Toast 28th Jan 2017, 7:13 AM edit delete reply
I'm not sure if it counts as temporary, but as part of a mission my party asked for one or more scrolls of invisibility. You see, this was back in D&D 3.0, before 3.5 rebalanced basic invis to have improved invis' shorter duration, and the mission was to extract a noble from an army he was about to break alliance with.

Long story short, our wizard learned invisibilty, and with a few scrolls and most his spell slots loaded with it, we snuck into an army of thousands, and walked right out with our target, with nobody the wiser until the next morning.
Greenhornet 28th Jan 2017, 8:01 AM edit delete reply
A guy I played with would avoid "temporary" spells if at all possible. "They always run out at the wrong time", he said.
I never asked for details, but I should have. The story probably would have been funny.
Binary Toast 28th Jan 2017, 11:48 AM edit delete reply
To be fair, we did at least try to account for that. Not only did we make sure we had enough spells for everyone on the way into the camp, we made sure we have enough scrolls to cast fresh spells on everyone for the exfiltration.
Super_Big_Mac 29th Jan 2017, 4:43 AM edit delete reply
Super_Big_Mac
A group I was in did something similar, except we hid our Invis potions inside soda bottles, labeled "Clear Cola." We poured some of the soda into random guards' drinks, and then started yelling about pieces of armor or random weaponry that is floating around. Guards started hacking each other apart while we made off with a whole lot of loot and no one ever knew it was us.
Lalli-is-Best 28th Jan 2017, 8:39 AM edit delete reply
My most recent character--a bard--received two magic beans for some job she had done off-screen. (the DM gave them to reward me for acting "in character." Breaking out into random song gets you stuff! Who knew?) However, the giver counseled me to not ever use the beans, because they could do dangerous things. Sadly, my bard was adventurous and didn't listen.
The first time I planted a bean, all it did was make a blue campfire appear. That's it. Just a regular campfire that was, for some reason, blue. Needless to say, I was disappointed.
Wanting to experiment further, I planted a second bean...which hatched into a young red dragon who proceeded to attack me.

And that's how that character died. Lesson: don't ever play with magic beans.
TenMihara 28th Jan 2017, 9:41 AM edit delete reply
Our task was to break into and either commandeer or destroy a fortress that was the only way in or out of a narrow mountain pass to prevent the Evil Empire's capital from sending reinforcements while we got our rebellion into full swing.

The temporary reward we got was a scroll of Earthquake, designed as a fallback plan to seal the gap. However, the party lacked a cleric, so my bard, having the highest UMD in the party, got it instead.

However, I was not confident in my ability to succeed at using it, so instead I used my much higher diplomacy skill to convince the ancient dwarven spirit guardians of the fortress to tear down its foundations after showing them the oppression the fortress was contributing to in the here and now.

We still have that scroll of earthquake, and we just picked up an Orb of Storms in a recent treasure hoarde, so someone is gonna get wrecked when we decide to use them.
Winged Cat 28th Jan 2017, 6:00 PM edit delete reply
Winged Cat
I don't know if this counts, but I have played what turned out to be a holy elemental who was summoned by a god of justice (technically, said god carved off a tiny part of himself) to do a job that consisted of the campaign we were playing, and went away when the campaign was complete. (He did not know it at first, but was pretty certain by the end, enough to say goodbye to a friend who had all but fallen in love with him.)

Which is to say, the "temporary magical spell" he was given by his "employer" was the one that caused him to exist.
Morathor 28th Jan 2017, 11:34 PM edit delete reply
Not from an employer, but the host of a series of athletic events we were competing in.
It was the final round--a brawl with the opposing team, in an arena full of obstacles, weapons, and third party adversaries (ie, ones that would attack either team).
I made a beeline for one of the chests, not wanting the enemy to get it first, and downed the potion I found inside.
My level six monk got to cast Wish as a level twenty sorcerer. Dealt out a total of 100d6 damage to various enemies. (Not that it took out anyone important.)
Jannard 29th Jan 2017, 5:42 AM edit delete reply
Does "getting basically the powers of a Solar to bring some order to a piece of the Abyss" count? It wasn't by an employer but by "the powers that be" though.

A closer example would be when a member of the party was granted a permanent Zone of Truth effect centerd on himself. The idea was to check that the people we were supposed to trade a Red Dragon's egg with didn't try to doublecross us, but our party member found a better use on interrogating his own companions to make sure *they* were trustworthy too; turns out the bard was going to betray us because he had a prior arrangement with the metallic dragons; luckily we could find common ground and "complete the task" by giving our employer a glamoured fake egg and keeping the real one for the bard's mission. Fun times.
IakKereshna 29th Jan 2017, 2:27 PM edit delete reply
Ooh, we were working for a Succubus in exchange for an item we required. She gave us a magical branding iron - brand someone for her, thus binding them to her, and we get the item.

... Shortly after this, one character in the party gained the Half-Celestial template, while I gained the Half-Fiendish template. Due to shenanigans, this resulted in my now half-demon Dwarf branding the half-angel Elf. HiLARious!
Dragonflight 29th Jan 2017, 2:45 PM edit delete reply
In an old 3.5 D&D game I ran, one of the players was contacted by the reborn spirit of an Elder God, who believed at the time he was actually just a long-dead shaman adrift on the spirit plane (long story.)

Anyway, the shaman/elder god told the player that he could temporarily switch out possession of the man's body so that the shaman could uncork a dispel which would free him from the zoo he'd been trapped in. Think of a desert sultan's private zoo, filled with things you'd expect to find in the Midnight Carnival from "The Last Unicorn") for an example. And yes, they had a displacer beast instead of a harpy. *Much* more dangerous threat for the owner. Same end result, though...

The shaman temporarily switches out with the man, and uncorks what turns out to be a Mordenkainen's Disjunction, effectively unmaking magic for his entire range. Since he was actually a reborn Elder God, that range happened to include most of the *city*, as well as *all* of the protective magics caging the dangerous things inside the Midnight Carnival. That was the party's first hint this shaman was more than he seemed.

So imagine the man's surprise when he is switched back to his own body, and sees the zoo running amok, with screaming starting to rise from everywhere in the city as explosions begin to light up the night?

Busy night for the PC's... :)
Freemage 30th Jan 2017, 9:01 AM edit delete reply
Okay, this is gonna be a bit long....

Party was entering an area undercover, attempting to infiltrate a nation that was currently under the despotic rule of religious tyrants.

We'd been given special potions of Alter Self that lasted for the travel-time, disguising our entire party as one of the zealot patrols.

We come across another group of zealots, engaged in battle against a demonic horde. Now, it's one thing to want to topple the usurpers; it's another to just let them get eaten by demons. So we come out and engage the fiends.

Our group's de facto leader was a priest of Sarish the Binder, and thus has a bunch of spells for dismissing demons. Of course, Sarish is NOT fondly regarded by the zealots, so he carefully hangs back and makes it look like our party's charge is what drives off the demons.

We then have a quick chat with the zealot patrol. During this, the priest, having become just a wee bit prideful over his ability to casually dismiss the demons, blithely mentions that this was how we'd won the battle. The leader of the troop tilts his head in confusion, "You what?"

The priest blinks, realizes he's just blown his cover, and says, "Oh, hell with it. Kill them all."

Cue second combat.
The Magician 30th Jan 2017, 11:32 AM edit delete reply
Our party Bard was granted a Shield Guardian by the Blackstaff to aid us in our quest to stop the Abyss from merging with the Underdark.

It turned out that the Guardian wasn't immune to pyschic effects though, and at one point, acquired kleptomania as a madness and managed to swipe to control amulet. We had to spend the rest of the night getting it back and curing the Gaurdian.

It also served as a saving grace during the final battle of the adventure. We were facing off against Demogorgon, whittling him down as best we could, though he was immune to nonmagical weapons, shorts a couple of our party members, including our rogue assassin. We got lucky though, because when the Shield Gaurdian cast its stored spell, it triggered the Faezorus. The effect it got was to make all creatures nearby vulnerable to piercing damage. It was standing next to Demogorgon. This overwrote his immunity to nonmagical piercing weapons, allowing our rogue to get off a shot. He crit and got his sneak attack, and the resulting damage took down Demogorgon in one blow.
Rastaba 30th Jan 2017, 5:43 PM edit delete reply
Rastaba
Since nobody else seems to have/is gonna say it...

Rarity: "Don't hate me because I'm FABULOUS!"